Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Ruinous/Graves Of Ceaseless Death/Dark Descent Records/2016 CD Review

  Ruinous  are  a  band  from  Pennsylvania  that  consists  of  members  from  Incantation,  Gorephobia,  Disma,  and  Funebrarum  that  plays  a  very  old  school  form  of  death  metal  with  some  elements  of  doom,  thrash  and  grindcore  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "Graves  Of Ceaseless  Death"  which  will  be  released  in  November  by  Dark  Descent  Records.

  A  very  dark, heavy  yet  melodic  sound  starts  off  the  album  along  with  the  music  speeding  up  and  adding  in  blast  beats  a  few  seconds  later  and  the  vocals  also  bring  in a   great  mixture  of  death  metal  growls  and  high  pitched  screams  and  the  music is  also  very  heavily  rooted  in  the  early  90's  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast parts.

  A  great  amount  of  doom/death  metal  elements  can  be  heard  in  the  slower  sections  of  the  songs  and  the  solos  and  leads  also  remain  true  to  a  very  dark,  melodic  yet  old  school  style  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very powerful  sound  to  them  and  some  of  the  songs  bring  in a   great  amount  of  grindcore  influences  and  one  of  the  tracks  is  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  the  album  also  remains  very  heavy  from  beginning  to  ending  of  the  recording.

  Ruinous  plays  a  style  of  death  metal  that  is  rooted  in  the  90's  while  also  mixing  in  elements  of  thrash,  doom  and  grindcore  along  with  a  more  modern  approach  to  create  a  sound  of  their  own,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  dark a nd  blasphemous  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Ruinous  are  a  very  great  sounding  mixture  of  old  school  death  metal,  doom,  grindcore  and  thrash  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  those  musical  genres,  you  should  check  out  this  band.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "The  Tombs  of  Blasphemy"  "From  Flames  Of  Malice  Born"  "Plague  Maiden"  and  "Torn  Forever  From  the  Light".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment