Tuesday, May 3, 2016

The Drowning/Senescent Signs/Casket Music/2016 CD Review

  Th  Drowning  are  a  band  from  Wales  in  the  United  kingdom  that  plays  a  mixture  of  doom  and  death  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2015  album  "Senesight  Signs" w hich  will  bw  released  in  June  by  Casket  Music.

  Tragic  sounding  keyboards  start  off  the  album  along  with  some  violins  and  after  the  intro  the  music  goes  into  a  heavier  musical  direction  which  also  introduces  death  metal  growls  onto  the  recording  as  well  as  adding  in  some  melodies  and  atmospheric  sounds  and  the  songs  are  rooted  in  the  90's  style  of  doom/death  metal.

  When  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  are  done  in a   very  dark,  melodic  and  depressive  fashion  and  black  metal  screams  can  also  be  heard  at  times  while  a  great  portion  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  and  acoustic  guitars  can  also  be  heard  at  times  and  elements  of  post  metal  can  also  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  both  slow  or  mid  paced  parts  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  and  one  track  also  brings  in  the  brief  use  of  whispers,  spoken  word  parts  and  female  vocals  which  also  return  again  briefly  along  with  some  operatic  male  vocals.

  The Drowning  plays  a  style  of  doom/death  metal  that  is  very  dark,  heavy  and  atmospheric  and  also  adds  in  a  touch  of  goth  and  black  metal,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  dark,  melancholic,  anti  religion  and  occult  themes.

  In  my  opinion  The  Drowning  are  a  very  great  sounding  atmospheric  mixture  of  doom  and  death  metal  along  with  some  goth  and  black  metal  touches  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  those  musical  genres,  you  should  check  out  this  band.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Broken  Before  The  Throne"  "At  One  With  the  Dead"  and  "The  Lament  of  Faust".  8  out  of  10.    



No comments:

Post a Comment